Peugeot Sport / Peugeot Rally

Peugeot Rally


Peugeot entered the rally scene in 1984, three years after Peugeot Sport division was established. In its first year Peugeot introduced 205 Turbo 16 model and immediately gained cult status winning Finnish Rally with Ari Vatanen as a driver. Next year Peugeot dominated Group B Rally winning seven out of twelve races with Timo Salonen behind the wheel. Peugeot won manufacturers’ title and Timo Salonen was the overall winner as a driver. Group B was cancelled in 1987 and Peugeot turned to cross country rallying winning Dakar Rally four times from 1987 to 1990. Twice with both 205 and 405.

After almost a decade of absence Peugeot returned to rally in 1999 with Peugeot 206 WRC. As if history repeated itself 206 WRC won its first race in 2000 at Rally Sweden. The same year Peugeot team won five more races and won manufacturers’ title. Grönholm won drivers’ title. Peugeot took manufacturers’ title in 2001 and 2002 as well.

In 2004 307 WRC was introduced but never repeated the success of 205 Turbo 16 and 206 WRC. In 2005 Peugeot finished the season as second manufacturer but that was the end. They never returned to Rally.